Ready to order

When to order yarn for Christmas 2026: UK shops

To get yarn by Christmas Eve 2026 with standard delivery, our estimates say order between Monday 7 December and Monday 21 December, depending on the shop, and the next-day couriers take orders until Wednesday 23 December. We worked these out from each shop’s stated dispatch and delivery times; they aren’t shop promises. None of the nine UK yarn shops we checked had published Christmas 2026 last order dates by 2 October 2026, and the latest Royal Mail dates we could read were still for 2025. From November, check each shop’s delivery page (linked at the bottom) and Royal Mail’s Christmas last posting dates page, and go by their 2026 dates once they appear. The tables below give each shop’s delivery terms, our estimates, and the most recent published Christmas dates, labelled by year.

Save to Pinterest

No 2026 Christmas dates yet, so here are the delivery terms

We read each shop’s own delivery page on 2 October 2026. None showed Christmas 2026 cut-offs. Shops usually add them late: Hobbycraft’s delivery page had no visible Christmas dates in a Web Archive copy from 1 December 2025, and showed them in a copy from 13 December 2025. That page called them Monday 19th and Friday 22nd December, but in 2025 those dates fell on a Friday and a Monday, so we give the dates only.

The table gives the standard and faster services, the free-delivery threshold and any order cut-off for same-day dispatch, all as the shops state them on 2 October 2026. Where a shop published Christmas dates in an earlier year, we list the most recent ones we could find and label the year. Deramores now redirects to LoveCrafts, and Paintbox Yarns’ own site sends UK buyers to LoveCrafts, so LoveCrafts’ terms cover both.

We haven’t test-ordered from these shops. Every time and price here comes from the shop’s own page, linked at the bottom. Amazon UK and Dunelm blocked our checks, so they’re not included.

UK yarn shops’ delivery terms, standard UK address, checked 2 October 2026 (Christmas cut-offs are from the year shown)
ShopStandard deliveryFaster optionFree deliverySame-day dispatch cut-offLast Christmas cut-offs found
Wool Warehouse£3.45, Evri or Royal Mail Tracked 24; allow 10 days (Evri) or 10 working days (Royal Mail)DPD £4.95 or DHL £5.95, next working day, mainland onlyOver £30DPD 2pm, DHL 1.30pm, Mon–Fri; banner on 2 Oct 2026: standard orders 2–3 days behindNone found for 2025
LoveCrafts (also Deramores, Paintbox Yarns)£3.50, Royal Mail tracked, 2–3 working daysRoyal Mail Premium £5.95 (£3.50 over £40), 2 working daysOver £40Orders after 1pm dispatched by 6pm next working day2024: standard Fri 20 Dec, Evri Premium Sun 22 Dec, both by noon
Hobbycraft£4.95, Royal Mail, within 3 working daysNext day £7.95 (free over £200)Over £25Next day: 8pm Mon–Fri2025: standard 19 Dec, next day 22 Dec, both by 8pm
Black Sheep Wools£2.95, Royal Mail 1st Class or courier, up to 7 working daysNone listedOver £30Not statedNone found
Hobbii (ships from Denmark)From £3.99, 2–4 business daysDHL express, not eligible for free shippingFrom £29.99Packed in 24–48 hours, shipped next business dayNone found
The Wool Factory£3.95, Royal Mail Tracked 48, 3–5 working daysTracked 24 £4.95 (1–3 working days); DPD next day £5.49 under 1kg, £6.95 1kg and overOver £50DPD: 3pm Mon–Thu; Friday orders arrive MondayNone found
Minerva£3.99, 2–3 working days after dispatchExpress £7.99 or courier £19.99, 1 working day after dispatchOver £50Not stated; in-stock items dispatched in 1–3 working daysNone found
Woolstack£3.00, Royal Mail Tracked 48, 2–3 working days after dispatchTracked 24, +£2.00, 1–2 working days£30 and over12pm, Mon–Fri2024: Royal Mail 48 and free postage Tue 17 Dec; Tracked 48 and 24 Thu 19 Dec
Mill Outlets£3.95, mainly Royal Mail, 3–7 working days after dispatchExpress courier £8.95, next working dayOver £40Express: middayNone found

Download this table (CSV) · free to reuse with a link to HazelLoop

When to order for Christmas Eve: our estimates

Christmas Day 2026 is a Friday, and Monday 28 December is the substitute Boxing Day bank holiday, according to GOV.UK. We aimed every estimate at delivery by Thursday 24 December, counting Monday to Friday as working days, because that’s how the shops count them. Where a shop gives a range, we used the slow end.

Wool Warehouse is the earliest because its page asks you to allow up to 10 working days for standard delivery. On 2 October 2026 it also had a banner saying standard and free orders were taking 2 to 3 extra days to dispatch, and our Monday 7 December estimate assumes that banner is still up in December, counted as 3 working days. Without it, the same arithmetic gives Thursday 10 December. Most of its parcels arrive sooner, by its own account, but it doesn’t give a typical figure.

Hobbii packs and ships from Copenhagen. Its policy says orders are packed within 24 to 48 hours and shipped the following business day, and its banner promises 2 to 4 business days. We stacked those, which gives Tuesday 15 December. That may be cautious if the 2 to 4 days already include packing.

Where a shop doesn’t say when it dispatches, we counted its delivery time from the day you order, which may be optimistic. The last column of the table shows where we did this.

Estimated latest order day for delivery by Thursday 24 December 2026, from each shop’s stated times checked 2 October 2026 (our estimates, not shop dates)
Shop and serviceStated time we usedOrder by (estimate)Leaves the shop
Wool Warehouse standardDispatch-delay banner seen 2 Oct 2026 (counted as 3 working days) + allow 10 working daysMon 7 Dec (Thu 10 Dec if banner gone)By Thu 10 Dec
Black Sheep WoolsUp to 7 working daysTue 15 DecNot stated; 7 days counted from order
Hobbii48 hours packing, next business day shipping, 4 business daysTue 15 DecFri 18 Dec
Mill Outlets standard7 working days (dispatch time not stated)Tue 15 DecNot stated for UK; we assumed order day
Minerva standardUp to 3 days dispatch + 3 working daysWed 16 DecBy Mon 21 Dec
The Wool Factory Tracked 485 working days (dispatch time not stated)Thu 17 DecNot stated; we assumed order day
Hobbycraft standard, Northern Ireland5 working daysThu 17 DecNot stated; counted from order
LoveCrafts standardNext working day dispatch (after 1pm) + 3 working daysFri 18 DecMon 21 Dec
Minerva expressUp to 3 days dispatch + 1 working dayFri 18 DecBy Wed 23 Dec
Hobbycraft standardWithin 3 working daysMon 21 DecNot stated; counted from order
Woolstack Tracked 48Same day before 12pm + 3 working daysMon 21 Dec, by 12pmMon 21 Dec
The Wool Factory Tracked 243 working daysMon 21 DecNot stated; we assumed order day
LoveCrafts PremiumNext working day dispatch + 2 working daysMon 21 DecTue 22 Dec
Woolstack Tracked 24Same day before 12pm + 2 working daysTue 22 Dec, by 12pmTue 22 Dec
Next-day couriers (Wool Warehouse, Hobbycraft, The Wool Factory, Mill Outlets)Before each shop’s cut-off + 1 working dayWed 23 Dec, by the cut-offWed 23 Dec

Download this table (CSV) · free to reuse with a link to HazelLoop

Royal Mail sets the real limit

A shop can dispatch on time and still miss Christmas if the carrier’s last posting date has passed. Royal Mail hadn’t published 2026 dates when we checked: its site blocked us on 2 October, and the latest Web Archive copy, from 2 September 2026, still showed Christmas 2025. Last year its 2025 dates were already up in a copy from 5 October 2025, so the 2026 ones may appear soon on its Christmas last posting dates page, royalmail.com/christmas/last-posting-dates.

In 2025, Royal Mail’s last date for Tracked 48 was Friday 19 December, six days before Christmas Day. Tracked 24 ran to Sunday 21 December and Special Delivery Guaranteed to Tuesday 23 December. Compare any estimate in our second table against Royal Mail’s 2026 dates when they appear. If the shop would dispatch after Royal Mail’s last date for that service, Royal Mail’s date wins.

Several of our standard estimates have parcels leaving the shop on Monday 21 December. That’s four days before Christmas Day. In 2025, Royal Mail’s Tracked 48 cut-off was six days before, so treat those as the riskiest rows in the table.

Royal Mail and Parcelforce last recommended posting dates for UK inland services, Christmas 2025 only (2026 dates not published at 2 October 2026)
Carrier and serviceLast posting date 2025Days before Christmas Day
Royal Mail 2nd Class and 2nd Class Signed ForWed 17 Dec8
Royal Mail Tracked 48Fri 19 Dec6
Royal Mail 1st Class and 1st Class Signed ForSat 20 Dec5
Royal Mail Tracked 24Sun 21 Dec4
Royal Mail Special Delivery GuaranteedTue 23 Dec2
Parcelforce express48 and express48largeFri 19 Dec6
Parcelforce express10, expressAM and express24Mon 22 Dec3

Download this table (CSV) · free to reuse with a link to HazelLoop

Isle of Man, Channel Islands and Northern Ireland

Faster services often stop at the mainland. Wool Warehouse’s DPD and DHL next-day services are for mainland UK only, and its page says courier deliveries to Northern Ireland and the Isle of Man can take 2 to 5 working days. Its Royal Mail Tracked 24 option covers all UK postcodes, including Northern Ireland. We didn’t find Jersey or Guernsey in its list of destinations.

LoveCrafts charges £5.95 to the Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey under £40 and nothing over £40, with the same 2 to 3 working days as the mainland. Hobbycraft says it no longer ships outside the UK, including the Channel Islands, and allows 3 to 5 working days for Northern Ireland. The Wool Factory takes Channel Islands orders and removes VAT at checkout. Mill Outlets’ express courier excludes Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands, and asks you to phone.

If you’re on an island or in Northern Ireland, use the slower end of every range and order a few days before the dates in our estimates table.

Use the free-delivery threshold, but not at the last minute

Free standard delivery started at £25 at Hobbycraft and ran up to £50 at The Wool Factory and Minerva on 2 October 2026. At these shops free delivery applies to the standard service, so a December basket built up to a threshold can still arrive too late. Hobbycraft’s next-day service is free only over £200, LoveCrafts’ Premium service drops to £3.50 over £40 rather than to nothing, and Hobbii says its DHL express option doesn’t qualify for free shipping.

Our yarn order checklist has the returns windows and a worked example of adding one ball to cross a threshold. Use the yarn budget calculator to get your ball count right before you start adding extras, and our cheapest DK guide if you’re comparing prices per metre.

Order the yarn before the pattern deadline

If you’re making the gift, the yarn deadline comes much earlier than the gift deadline. Work back from the day you need to finish, allow time to make it, and order the yarn before that.

Our Christmas stocking guide gives yarn quantities for stockings, and our advent calendar guide lists when each calendar is dispatched. For anything else, check the pattern’s yarn quantity, round each colour up to whole balls, and order everything in one basket so the dye lots match.

When these dates will change

Last year Royal Mail’s dates were online by early October. LoveCrafts’ 2024 Christmas article was dated 25 November 2024, and Hobbycraft’s 2025 dates appeared between 1 and 13 December. We’ll check the pages again in November and replace the estimates with published dates where they exist. Until then, use the estimates as a planning guide and check the shop’s delivery page before you order.

Check before you move on

  • Shop’s delivery page checked for its own Christmas 2026 dates
  • Royal Mail’s 2026 last posting date found for the service the shop uses
  • Slow end of the delivery range used, more for islands and Northern Ireland
  • Free-delivery threshold reached with standard delivery still in time
  • Every colour in one basket so the dye lots match
  • Making time counted before the yarn deadline, not after it

Ready to buy?

Order in one basket

All crochet supplies ↗
Illustration · colour approximate

Ad · Amazon UK

Stylecraft Special DK pack of five, Burgundy (1035)

Five 100g balls of one shade, 295m per ball, sold by The Great British Yarn Company. Enter it as a pack of 5 in the comparison.

View on Amazon (paid link) ↗
Illustration · colour approximate

Ad · Amazon UK

Our pick

Four of the nine blankets in our blanket guide use Stylecraft Special DK, so our tables convert straight to its 295m balls.

Stylecraft Special DK, Charcoal (1128)

One 100g / 295m ball, 100% acrylic, sold by The Great British Yarn Company.

View on Amazon (paid link) ↗

Paid links: we may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. Nothing you type into our tools is added to these links. Check price, seller and delivery at Amazon. Colour swatches are approximate.

Try it with your own numbers.

Calculate whole balls or packs for every colour. Subtract your stash and add UK delivery.

Build my list ↗

Common questions

When is the last order date for Christmas 2026 at Wool Warehouse?

Wool Warehouse hadn’t published one on 2 October 2026, and we found none on its delivery page in late November 2025. Its standard service asks you to allow up to 10 working days, and on 2 October it showed a 2 to 3 day dispatch delay, so our estimate is to order standard by Monday 7 December, or Thursday 10 December if the delay banner has gone. Its DPD next-day service takes orders until 2pm, and DHL until 1.30pm, for next working day delivery to mainland UK.

What are Royal Mail’s last posting dates for Christmas 2026?

Not published when we checked on 2 October 2026. In 2025 they were Wednesday 17 December for 2nd Class, Friday 19 December for Tracked 48, Saturday 20 December for 1st Class, Sunday 21 December for Tracked 24 and Tuesday 23 December for Special Delivery Guaranteed.

Will yarn from Hobbii arrive before Christmas?

It ships from Copenhagen. Hobbii says it packs orders within 24 to 48 hours, ships them the next business day and delivers in 2 to 4 business days. Stacking those at the slow end, our estimate is to order by Tuesday 15 December 2026.

Which yarn shops deliver to the Isle of Man and Channel Islands?

LoveCrafts lists the Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey at £5.95 under £40 and free over £40. The Wool Factory takes Channel Islands orders. Hobbycraft no longer ships to the Channel Islands, and Wool Warehouse’s destination list didn’t include Jersey or Guernsey.

Sources and scope

Sources checked 2 October 2026. Label facts come from the linked references; worked purchase examples and arithmetic are our own illustrations.

Keep planning

These are planning methods, not physically tested crochet patterns. Read our method and editorial approach.

Was this useful?

Anonymous: we keep your note and the page, not who you are. Please don’t include personal details.