Advent calendars

Yarn advent calendars 2026 (UK): price per metre compared

The 2026 yarn advent calendars still on sale to UK buyers cost £120 to £185 for 24 mini skeins, which works out at £6.85 to £18.18 per 100 metres, checked 1 October 2026. Prices and stock can change, and small runs sell out fast. The cheapest per metre was Indie Yarn Club’s Colour Lover’s Advent in its sock base, at £120 with UK postage included. We opened each seller’s own page and turned grams and metres per 100g into total metres, so you can compare calendars that come in different sizes, weights and fibres.

Save to Pinterest

The 2026 calendars side by side

The table lists the 2026 calendars we found for UK buyers on sellers’ own product pages, with a row for each base that changes the price or the metres. Each row uses the seller’s own figures for price, number of minis, grams per mini and metres per 100g. We worked out the rest. Prices and stock were checked on 1 October 2026 and can change at any time. Small indie runs can sell out in a day, so check the link before you plan around one.

Most of these are hand-dyed sock-weight minis of 20g each, so a 24-day box holds 480g. Craft House Magic and Yarn Unique also sell 12-day versions, and Yarn Unique and Indie Yarn Club offer DK minis. We haven’t bought or crocheted with these calendars. All the figures come from the sellers and designers named here.

2026 yarn advent calendars sold to UK buyers: seller’s price, minis and metres, with our price per 100m (prices and stock checked 1 October 2026 and may change; postage extra unless noted)
Calendar (seller)PriceMinisTotal gramsMetres per miniTotal metresWeight and fibre£ per 100mDispatchStock on 1 Oct 2026
Colour Lover’s Advent, Happy Feet base (Indie Yarn Club)£120, UK postage included24 × 20g480g731,752Sock, 100% merino£6.85Early NovemberIn stock
Colour Lover’s Advent, Plush base (Indie Yarn Club)£120, UK postage included24 × 20g480g451,080DK, 100% merino£11.11Early NovemberIn stock
Neon Rainbow, Luxe Sock (Yarn Unique)£14024 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 85% merino, 15% nylon£7.29Early NovemberIn stock
Myth & Magic or Dreamscapes & Dragons, Luxe Sock (Yarn Unique)£15024 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 85% merino, 15% nylon£7.81Early NovemberIn stock, 2 to 3 left
Myth & Magic or Dreamscapes & Dragons, Starry Sock (Yarn Unique)£16024 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 75% merino, 25% nylon£8.33Early NovemberIn stock
Neon Rainbow, Starry Sock (Yarn Unique)£15024 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 75% merino, 20% nylon, 5% lurex£7.81Early NovemberIn stock
Neon Rainbow, Silky Sock (Yarn Unique)£17024 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 50% merino, 50% silk£8.85Early NovemberIn stock
Myth & Magic or Dreamscapes & Dragons, Silky Sock (Yarn Unique)£18524 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 50% merino, 50% silk£9.64Early NovemberIn stock
Myth & Magic, Silky Yak 4ply (Yarn Unique)£18524 × 20g480g731,7574ply, 60% merino, 20% silk, 20% yak£10.53Early NovemberIn stock (Dreamscapes & Dragons version sold out)
Neon Rainbow, DK Luxe Sock (Yarn Unique)£14024 × 20g480g451,080DK, 85% merino, 15% nylon£12.96Early NovemberIn stock
Myth & Magic or Dreamscapes & Dragons, Luxe DK Sock (Yarn Unique)£15024 × 20g480g451,080DK, 85% merino, 15% nylon£13.89Early NovemberIn stock
Myth & Magic or Dreamscapes & Dragons, Silky Yak DK (Yarn Unique)£18524 × 20g480g421,018DK, 60% merino, 20% silk, 20% yak£18.18Early NovemberIn stock
Myth & Magic 12 Days, Luxe Yak (Yarn Unique)£28012 × 50g600g2002,4004ply, 50% silk, 50% yak£11.67Early November1 left
12 Day Neon Rainbow, Suri Silk Fluff (Yarn Unique)£12012 × 20g240g1201,440Lace, 74% suri alpaca, 26% silk£8.33Early November1 left
Myth & Magic 12 Days, Suri/Silk Lace (Yarn Unique)£12512 × 20g240g1201,440Lace, 74% alpaca, 26% silk£8.68Early NovemberIn stock
Haven Cottage 24-day, merino/nylon 4ply (Craft House Magic)£18024 × 20g480g852,0404ply, 75% merino, 25% nylon£8.82By 19 OctoberIn stock
Haven Cottage 24-day, Stellina 4ply (Craft House Magic)£18024 × 20g480g801,9204ply, 75% merino, 20% nylon, 5% Stellina£9.38By 19 OctoberIn stock
Out of This World 12-day, merino/nylon 4ply (Craft House Magic)£9012 × 20g240g851,0204ply, 75% merino, 25% nylon£8.82By 19 OctoberIn stock
Out of This World 12-day, Stellina 4ply (Craft House Magic)£9012 × 20g240g809604ply, 75% merino, 20% nylon, 5% Stellina£9.38By 19 OctoberIn stock
Roses, Platinum fingering (Cookston Crafts)£155Not stated, 20g eachNot stated85Not statedFingering, 75% merino, 25% nylonNot statedEarly NovemberSold out
Autumn in the Wolds, Luxe Sock (The Fibre Fox)Not shown24 × 20g480g852,0404ply, 75% merino, 25% nylonNot statedNot statedPre-orders closed; spares due before the CAL
Moments of Hygge for Crocheters (Hobbii)£86, free delivery4 project bagsNot statedNot statedNot statedContains woolNot statedNot stated; first pattern 29 NovemberIn stock
Advent CALendar 2026 (Crochet Society)£89.99, free UK delivery25 ballsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNovember 2026In stock

Download this table (CSV) · free to reuse with a link to HazelLoop

How we worked out price per 100 metres

Grams times metres per 100g gives metres per mini. Yarn Unique’s Luxe Sock is 400m per 100g, so a 20g mini holds 80m, and 24 of them make 1,920m. At £150 that’s £7.81 per 100 metres. We used the full one-off price. Yarn Unique’s pages also list a four-month instalment plan, for example 4 × £35 for the £150 calendar, but it was only for orders placed before 25 July.

Postage isn’t the same everywhere. Indie Yarn Club includes UK shipping in its £120. Crochet Society and Hobbii show free UK delivery on their calendars. Craft House Magic and Yarn Unique quote the calendar price on its own, so add their postage at checkout before you compare.

Mini-skein advents and project-kit advents aren’t the same thing

Hobbii’s Moments of Hygge calendar for crocheters (£86) and the Crochet Society Advent CALendar 2026 (£89.99) are kits. Hobbii sends four bags, one for each Advent Sunday, with the yarn for four projects and a free pattern each week from 29 November. Crochet Society sends 25 balls of yarn with a printed booklet of eight patterns, including a 25-day crochet-along blanket.

Neither page gives grams or metres, so we can’t put a price per metre on them. They suit you if you want a guided project. If you want a set of coordinated hand-dyed minis to use however you like, the sock-weight calendars in the table are the ones to compare.

Is one advent enough for a project?

Think in metres, not days. A 24-day DK advent of 20g minis at 225m per 100g holds 1,080m, 45m in each mini. Our hat guide found an adult medium or large DK beanie takes 183 to 247m, so that’s five or six minis. An adult DK scarf of about 18 × 160cm took 400 to 750m in the patterns we checked, which is 9 to 17 minis, so one DK advent covers a scarf with some left over.

A sock-weight advent holds more length, 1,752 to 2,040m across the 24-mini sock and 4ply calendars in the table, but it makes a lighter, finer fabric. If your project needs one colour to dominate, budget for an extra skein. Craft House Magic, Yarn Unique and The Fibre Fox all sell a full skein dyed to go with their 2026 advent.

Using an advent for the MeemaMakes Starfall CAL

MeemaMakes’ Starfall blanket crochet-along starts on 1 December 2026 and runs into March 2027. The pattern goes on sale on 27 November for £7.50 plus VAT. It was designed with The Fibre Fox’s 2026 advent, Autumn in the Wolds, on its Luxe Sock base, which is 425m per 100g.

MeemaMakes says you can substitute any sock, 4ply or fingering advent of 24 × 20g minis with at least 80m per mini, plus 1,275m of a contrasting background colour, so you’ll be buying at least 3,195m in all. The Fibre Fox’s pre-orders closed in spring 2026, but MeemaMakes says spares will be on sale before the CAL, with a second pre-order in the new year. The Fibre Fox lists the matching background colour, Harvest Moon, from £21 a skein, and the pattern calls for three 425m skeins of it. Watch the 80m line: Indie Yarn Club’s Happy Feet minis hold 73m and Yarn Unique’s Silky Yak 4ply minis about 73m. A DK advent doesn’t meet the advent rule, though MeemaMakes gives a separate table for making the blanket in other yarn weights.

Which 24-mini calendars meet the Starfall CAL rule of sock or 4ply weight, 24 × 20g and at least 80m per mini (seller figures, checked 1 October 2026)
CalendarWeightMetres per 20g miniMeets the rule?
Autumn in the Wolds, Luxe Sock (The Fibre Fox)4ply85Yes, the yarn the pattern was designed with
Haven Cottage, merino/nylon 4ply (Craft House Magic)4ply85Yes
Haven Cottage, Stellina 4ply (Craft House Magic)4ply80Yes, exactly 80m
Yarn Unique Luxe Sock, Starry Sock or Silky Sock (any theme)4ply80Yes, exactly 80m
Colour Lover’s Advent, Happy Feet (Indie Yarn Club)Sock73No, 7m short per mini
Yarn Unique Silky Yak 4ply4ply73No, about 7m short per mini
Any DK calendar (Yarn Unique Luxe DK Sock or Silky Yak DK, Indie Yarn Club Plush)DK42 to 45No, wrong weight for the advent rule

Download this table (CSV) · free to reuse with a link to HazelLoop

Dispatch dates and what’s left

Craft House Magic says its calendars will be dispatched by 19 October. Yarn Unique, Indie Yarn Club and Cookston Crafts all ship UK orders in early November, and Crochet Society ships in November 2026. Hobbii doesn’t give a dispatch date, but its first pattern goes out on 29 November.

On 1 October 2026, Cookston Crafts’ Roses calendar was sold out in every base. Craft House Magic had only its merino/nylon and Stellina sparkle 4ply bases left in 20g minis. Yarn Unique’s product pages showed between one and six of each calendar in the table, and its Dreamscapes & Dragons Silky Yak 4ply and 12-day Luxe Yak had sold out. Indie Yarn Club showed five to seven of each base. Stock moves quickly, so treat these as a snapshot.

Before you order

Choose the base first. The same calendar can be DK or sock weight, and that halves or doubles the metres you get. Then check the mini size. 10g minis hold half the length of 20g ones but cost more than half the price: Craft House Magic’s 24-day calendar is £128 in 10g minis and £180 in 20g, though the 10g version had sold out on 1 October.

If you want a background skein, order it with the advent. Craft House Magic and Yarn Unique both sell an extra skein that ships with the advent. To compare two calendars with postage, enter each one in the cost comparison tool as a single ball, with its total metres as the metres per ball and its price as the pack price, then add each seller’s delivery charge.

Check before you move on

  • Base chosen first, since DK minis hold about half the metres of sock minis
  • Total metres worked out as minis × grams × metres per 100g ÷ 100
  • Full one-off price used, not the instalment amount
  • UK postage added where the seller doesn’t include it
  • Matching background skein ordered in the same basket if your pattern needs one
  • Dispatch date noted, so you know when to chase a missing parcel

Ready to buy?

Useful once the minis arrive

All crochet supplies ↗
Illustration, not a product photo

Ad · Amazon UK

ZGTS aluminium crochet hook set, 9 hooks

Nine hooks: 2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0, 5.5 and 6.0mm.

View on Amazon (paid link) ↗
Illustration, not a product photo

Ad · Amazon UK

YINVA locking stitch markers, pack of 150

150 plastic locking markers in mixed colours.

View on Amazon (paid link) ↗
0.0gTARE
Illustration, not a product photo

Ad · Amazon UK

Our pick

Weighs whole balls and finished squares (5kg capacity) and shows 0.1g, enough for our grams-to-metres converter.

Etekcity EK9000 digital kitchen scale

Tare function, 5kg capacity, 0.1g resolution as stated by the listing (minimum 0.3g).

View on Amazon (paid link) ↗

Paid links: we may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. Nothing you type into our tools is added to these links. Check price, seller and delivery at Amazon.

Try it with your own numbers.

Compare two shop offers for the same yarns, including pack rounding and postage.

Compare two offers ↗

Common questions

Which yarn advent calendar 2026 is the best value in the UK?

Per metre, Indie Yarn Club’s Colour Lover’s Advent in Happy Feet sock yarn, at £6.85 per 100m with UK postage included, checked 1 October 2026. Yarn Unique’s Neon Rainbow in Luxe Sock was next at £7.29 per 100m before postage. Prices and stock can change.

When do yarn advent calendars ship in 2026?

Craft House Magic dispatches by 19 October. Yarn Unique, Indie Yarn Club and Cookston Crafts ship UK orders in early November, and Crochet Society in November 2026.

How many metres are in a yarn advent calendar?

A 24 × 20g sock-weight calendar in the table holds 1,752 to 2,040m. The same size in DK holds 1,080m, because DK has fewer metres per 100g.

Can I use any yarn advent for the Starfall CAL?

MeemaMakes accepts any sock, 4ply or fingering advent of 24 × 20g minis with at least 80m each, plus 1,275m of a background colour. A DK advent or one with shorter minis doesn’t meet that rule, though the pattern page has a separate table for other yarn weights.

Is there a crochet advent calendar 2026 in the UK with patterns?

Yes. Crochet Society’s Advent CALendar 2026 (£89.99) has 25 balls and eight patterns, and Hobbii’s Moments of Hygge for Crocheters (£86) has four weekly projects. Neither states metres.

Sources and scope

Sources checked 1 October 2026. Label facts come from the linked references; worked purchase examples and arithmetic are our own illustrations.

Keep planning

These are planning methods, not physically tested crochet patterns. Read our method and editorial approach.